Uttarakhand, a state in northern India crossed by the Himalayas, is known for its Hindu pilgrimage sites. Rishikesh, a major centre for yoga study, also known as Yoga Capital of the World, was made famous by the Beatles’ 1968 visit. Rig Veda, the most ancient of the scriptures says, ‘there is no happiness for him who does not travel. The fortune of him who is sitting sits, it rises when he rises, it sleeps when he sleeps, it moves when he moves. Therefore, Wander!’

The Culture and people of the state are very closely associated with each other. The term ‘culture’ refers to the complex collection of knowledge, folklore, language, rules, rituals, habits, lifestyles, attitudes, beliefs, and customs that link and give a common identity to a particular group of people at a specific point in time.

At the feet of these Himalayan heights lie the glaciers, which are ice in gradual motion, and several sacred and life-giving rivers find their origin in them.

According to the glacial formations, two of the five traditional divisions of the Himalayan range are found in Uttarakhand, namely Garhwal and Kumaon. The major glacial formations of Garhwal include Bandarpunch, Doonagiri, Khatling, Gangotri and the Nanda Devi cluster of glaciers, while Kumaon incorporates the Kaphni, Milam, Pindari and Ralam Glaciers.

Yoga, Meditation, Camping, Low Altitude Trekking, High Altitude Trekking, Mountaineering, Skiing and Rafting as an activity has been known to mankind since the first tryst with the mountains was made. Since time immemorial, sages and pilgrims have been drawn to these mountains because they provide not only serene sheds of solitude, but their very sight uplifts the spirit and makes it soar, fulfilling the longing for the Infinite that is both beyond and yet within the human soul. The Himalayan Mountains are no exception to this longing. Holiday-makers can make the most of these mountains, which are a playground for many an enjoyable holiday activity. Trekking, high altitude camping, mountain biking, rock climbing and skiing in the winter months are some of the many holiday activities offered, and the State Tourism Board is doing all it can to make Uttarakhand the adventure capital of the country. Nature-lovers and photographers can invigorate their passion with the plush flora and fauna of this kingdom of nature that boasts of thousands of species, some of which can only be found in this lap of the world. The importance of eco-friendly diversity has been noted and this is why forest institutes in the region promote the learning and discovery of new species with an emphasis on the preservation of existing ones.

The snow-capped peaks of the mountains that surround this region make a profound impression, connecting the spirits of man the mountains. The beauty of Uttarakhand is said by many to be unsurpassed where mountains and valleys, birds and animals all come together to mingle in delightful synchronicity.

Below are the list of few Peaks extremely popular among the mountain lovers and mountaineers across the world

  • Mount Nanda Devi East & Main
  • Mount Trishul
  • Mount Chuakhmba
  • Mount Shivling
  • Mount Swargrohini
  • Mount Bhagirathi – I,II & III
  • Mount Neelkanth
  • Mount Abigamin (7354 Mts)
  • Mount Arwa Spire (6193 Mts)
  • Mount Arwa Tower (6352 Mts)
  • Mount Baljuri (5922 Mts)
  • Mount Banderpunch (Route -1, 2 &3) (6316 Mts)
  • Mount Banderpunch (West/White Route 1 &2) (6316 Mts)
  • Mount Barmal (5880 Mts)
  • Mount Bhanoti (5645 Mts)
  • Mount Bhartekhunta (6578 Mts)
  • Mount Bhrigupanth (6772 Mts)
  • Mount Changabang (6866 Mts)
  • Mount Changuch (6322 Mts)
  • Mount Chaukhamba –I (Route 1&2), II (Route 1&2), III (Route 1&2) & IV (Route 1&2) (7138 Mts)
  • Mount Deoban (6820 Mts)
  • Mount Dronagiri (6489 Mts)
  • Mount Ganesh Parbat (6535 Mts)
  • Mount Gangotri I,II & III (6672 Mts )
  • Mount Ghori Parbat (6601 Mts)
  • Mount Hardeol (7161 Mts)
  • Mount Hathi Parbat (6727 Mts)
  • Mount Jaonli (6632 Mts)
  • Mount Jogin I, II & III (6465 Mts)
  • Mount Kalang/Black (6387 Mts)
  • Mount Kalanka (6931 Mts)
  • Mount Kamet (7756 Mts)
  • Mount Kedar Dome (6830 Mts)
  • Mount Kedarnath (6940 Mts)
  • Mount Karcha Kund (6632 Mts)
  • Mount Kirti Stambh (6285 Mts)
  • Mount Kunti Bandar (6895 Mts)
  • Mount Lamkhaga (5764 Mts )
  • Mount Lampak (6181 Mts)
  • Mount Lapsa Dhura (5895 Mts)
  • Mount Little Kailash (Adi Kailash) (6321 Mts)
  • Mount Maiktoli (6803 Mts )
  • Mount Mana (7273 Mts)
  • Mount Manda (6568 Mts)
  • Mount Mandir Parbat
  • Mount Meru North/Mrigthana, South, West, (6450 Mts)
  • Mount Mrigthuni (6855 Mts)
  • Mount Mukut Parbat, East (7242 Mts)
  • Mount Nanda Devi East & Main (7434 Mts)
  • Mount Nanda Ghunti (6309 Mts)
  • Mount Nanda Khat (6545 Mts)
  • Mount Nanda Kot (6861 Mts)
  • Mount Nilkantha (6597 Mts)
  • Mount Pachachuli (Route 1&2) (6349 Mts)
  • Mount Panwali Dwar (6663 Mts )
  • Mount Rataban (6126 Mts)
  • Mount Ronti (6063 Mts)
  • Mount Rudragaira (5819 Mts)
  • Mount Saifee (6167 Mts)
  • Mount Satopanth (7075 Mts )
  • Mount Shivling (6543 Mts)
  • Mount Srinkantha (6133 Mts)
  • Mount Sudarshan Parbat (6507 Mts)
  • Mount Sujtilla (6543 Mts )
  • Mount Swachhand (6721 Mts)
  • Mount Swargrohini I,II III & IV (6248 Mts)
  • Mount Thalaysagar (6984 Mts)
  • Mount Tharkot (6099 Mts)
  • Mount Thelu (6000 Mts)
  • Mount Trishul I,II, III & West  (7120 Mts)
  • Mount Vashuki Parbat (6792 Mts)
  • And many more unknown peaks which are still waiting to be climbed and named by the climbers…..

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *